Nashboro I Heard The Angels Singing 4-CD Set 2013

Retail: $39.99
Sale: $29.99
Save: 25% off

Contact Us

To be notified when this product is back in stock please click here.


Product Description

I Heard The Angels Singing : Electrifying Black Gospel From The Nashboro Label 1951-1983.

In this first licensed reissue of Nashboro material in decades, this highly influential music, a vital part of the fabric of American music, can finally be heard. Begun by Ernie Young in Nashville, TN, at the height of gospel's "golden age," Nashboro was arguably the greatest, most prolific and longest-living gospel record label. Initial recordings were made on site, overseen by Young himself. Those early Nashboro sides have all the excitement, energy and drive of far better-known indies from the 1950s such as Chess and Sun (indeed, Nashboro was parent to the infamous, blues-busting label Excello).

This exceptional set, with detailed liner notes by Opal Louis Nations, mirrors the evolution of the music it- self--from hard-shouting quartets and riveting solo artists through to organ-driven groups and heavy gospel soul. Among the many highlights are tracks by the Consolers, Swanee Quintet, Angelic Gospel Singers, Radio Four, Supreme Angels, Pilgrim Jubilees, Fairfield Four, Edna Gallmon Cooke, Hightower Brothers, Brooklyn All Stars, Bro. Joe May, Gospel Keynotes, Trumpeteers, Holmes Sisters, Five Singing Stars, Jewel Trio and the Gospel Harmonettes.

CD 1 Track Listing:
01. Silvertone Jubilee Singers Since Jesus Came into My Heart
02. Skylarks There Must Be a City
03. Cross-Road Singers Sing till the Power of the Lord Comes Down
04. Sons of the South In My Savior's Care
05. Flying Cloud Quintet Jezebel
06. Fireside Gospel Singers Get Your Soul Right
07. Skylarks Baptism of Jesus
08. Swanee Quintet It's Hard to Get Along
09. Blair Gospel Singers I've Got Heaven on My Mind
10. Radio Four How Much I Owe
11. Spiritual Five I've Been Born Again
12. Sullivan Pugh Give Me My Flowers
13. Chosen Gospel Singers Trouble of This World's Condition
14. Traveling Echoes Looking For A Better Place to Live
15. Singing Sons If You Ever Needed the Lord
16. Christland Singers You Got To Be Born Again
17. Supreme Angels Run to the Rock
18. Southern Echoes Be Ready When He Comes
19. Morgan Babb Wonder How Long
20. Consolers This May Be the Last Time
21. Trumpeteers I Want To Know

CD 2 Track Listing:
01. Edna Gallmon Cooke I Can't See Them Now
02. Sensational Propheteers I'm Battling
03. Chosen Gospel Singers Lord Shine on Me
04. Gospel Trio Too Late
05. Angelic Gospel Singers I'm Getting Nearer, Pt. 1
06. Kindly Shepherds Take the Lord with You
07. CBS Trumpeteers Milky White Way
08. Spiritual Keynotes Ashamed of Jesus
09. Professor Harold Boggs and the Boggettes I Prayed and He Healed Me
10. Sister Lucille Barbee Let the Church Roll On
11. Trumpets of Joy I Need the Lord to Guide Me
12. Canaanites Lord You Can Depend On Me
13. Gospel Five Singers Love Deep Down in Your Heart
14. Rock Island Singers Lord I'll Be Satisfied
15. Sons of Faith Since I've Been Born
16. Gospel Clouds of Joy Thinking of His Goodness
17. Hightower Brothers Seat in the Kingdom
18. Chosen Gospel Singers Let Your Life Speak Out
19. Holmes Sisters Son of Man
20. Golden Trumpets Working Below
21. Traveling Kings Farther Down the Road
22. Gospel Solotones Ride In the Chariot
23. Hightower Brothers It's Glory Glory
24. Gospel Songbirds When They Ring Them Golden Bells

CD 3 Track Listing:
01. Bonita Cantrell Wait On the Lord
02. Maggie Ingram and the Ingramettes Time Is Winding Up
03. Harmonizing Five You Need the Lord Every Day
04. Singing Crusaders Good Morning
05. Williams Singers Troubled Mind
06. Skylarks My Life is in His Hand
07. Six Trumpets Nobody but You, Lord
08. Morning Echoes I've Got Jesus
09. Gospel Songbirds Won't It Be Grand
10. Silver Bells My Love for Jesus
11. Taylor Brothers Mother's Advice
12. Rev. M.L. Franklin Sweet Hour of Prayer
13. Edna Gallmon Cooke At the Gate
14. Brother Joe May Silent Night
15. Spiritual Five Satisfied with Him
16. Sister Emma Tucker You Should Have Been There
17. Brother George Carter I Do, Don't You
18. Slim and the Supreme Angel Singers I Want To Be Just Like Him
19. Fairfield Four Don't Drive Your Children Away

CD 4 Track Listing:
01. Ethel Davenport Free At Last
02. Jonathan Greer Gospel Train
03. Dorothy Love Coates and the Gospel Harmonettes Heaven I've Heard So Much about It
04. Consolers Children Keep On Marching
05. Bevins Specials Everybody Ought to Pray
06. Rev. Willingham and the Swanee Quintet That's the Spirit
07. Brooklyn Allstars I Stood on the Banks of Jordan
08. Rev. Cleophus Robinson Wrapped Up, Tied Up, Tangled Up
09. Morning Stars of Savannah Jesus is My Keeper
10. Gospel Keynotes Keynote's Prayer
11. Pilgrim Jubilee Singers He Brought Joy to My Soul
12. Troy Ramey and the Soul Searchers It's Jesus, Y'All
13. Bright Stars It's Time to Serve the Lord
14. Salem Travelers Moving On
15. Tommy Ellison and the Five Singing Stars Come On Home
16. Willie Neal Johnson and the Gospel Keynotes Bless Me

Format: Audio CD
Release Date: 12/10/2013
Label: Universal
UPC: 894807002981
CShopper ID: CSMUS7475-E

  • CShopper ID: CSMUS7475-E
  • Manufactured by: Universal Music Christian Group
  • Current Price: $29.99
  • Payments Accepted: PayPal, American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
  • Item Condition: New
  • Availability: Out of Stock
  • Processing Time: 1-3 Business Days

Customer Reviews
Be the first to review this product!

Let us notify you when this product is back in stock!

Simply enter your details below and we will send you an e-mail when “Nashboro I Heard The Angels Singing 4-CD Set 2013” is back in stock!

We will not send you any other e-mails or add you to our newsletter, you will only be e-mailed about this product!

footer spacer logo
(678) 810-0605

Customer Service:
Open Support Ticket
footer spacer
Our Policies

:: About Us
:: Shipping
:: Returns
:: Privacy
:: Terms of Use
:: Disclaimer
footer spacer footer spacer

Copyright © 2016 Powered by Zen Cart Sitemap