Monks of the Desert Blessings, Peace and Harmony CD 2012

Retail: $11.99
Sale: $8.99
Save: 25% off

Contact Us

To be notified when this product is back in stock please click here.


Product Description

The remarkable Monks of the Desert, who spend their daily hours praying for peace, working and studying in silence, make their major label debut on Sony Masterworks with an album of Gregorian chant, Blessings, Peace and Harmony. Named after Pope Gregory I, Gregorian chant involves the early Christian liturgical music that originated in medieval times and forms the roots of Western classical music.

"The kind of singing that we do calms the spirit and helps us live in peace with our world and with one another," says Abbot Philip Lawrence, a scholar of chant who also leads the monastery of Christ in the Desert. "According to various studies, chanting has some strange effect on brain waves," notes Abbot Philip. In modern times, many people have been attracted to Gregorian chant believer or non-believer. There is something ethereal and transcendent about the sound, not only as entertainment, but as a deepening of a life of prayer, inner peace and sharing with others. The Monks believe that Gregorian chant is a way of touching hearts and minds. With Blessings, Peace and Harmony they hope to bring others into a world in which peace, inner tranquility and an appreciation of beauty prevail.

About the Monks:
The Monastery of Christ in the Desert is located completely "off-the-grid" in the stunning Chama Canyon wilderness in northwestern New Mexico, about 75 miles north of Santa Fe. When not praying or studying, the monks run a multitude of self-sustaining businesses including light manufacturing, brewing beer (Monk's Ale & Monk's Wit), an on-site "hotel," community thrift store in Santa Fe and a separate retail store specializing in hand-crafted religious items, books, music and folk art.

Blessings, Peace and Harmony Track Listing media player real mp3
01. Alma Redemptoris
02. Salve Regina
03. Salva Mater
04. Sequence: Ave Mundi Spes Maria
05. Sequence: Stabat Mater Dolorosa
06. Kyrie IV
07. Gloria IX
08. Sanctus IV
09. Agnue Dei IV
10. Rorate Caeli
11. Puer Natus
12. Parce, Domine
13. Alleluia, O Filii Et Filiae
14. Salve Festa Dies
15. Kyrie III
16. Gloria III
17. Sanctus III
18. Agnus Dei III
19. Alleluia, Confitemini
20. Alleluia, Vir Dei
21. Alleluia, Lustus Germinabit
22. Alleluia, De Profundis
23. Alleluia, Paratum Cor Meum

Format: Audio CD
Release Date: 04/24/2012
Label: RCA Victor
Distributed by: Provident
UPC: 886979020429
CShopper ID: CSMUS6819

  • CShopper ID: CSMUS6819
  • Manufactured by: Monks of the Desert
  • Current Price: $8.99
  • Payments Accepted: PayPal, American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
  • Item Condition: New
  • Availability: Out of Stock
  • Processing Time: 1-3 Business Days

Customer Reviews
Be the first to review this product!

Let us notify you when this product is back in stock!

Simply enter your details below and we will send you an e-mail when “Monks of the Desert Blessings, Peace and Harmony CD 2012” is back in stock!

We will not send you any other e-mails or add you to our newsletter, you will only be e-mailed about this product!

footer spacer logo
(678) 810-0605

Customer Service:
Open Support Ticket
footer spacer
Our Policies

:: About Us
:: Shipping
:: Returns
:: Privacy
:: Terms of Use
:: Disclaimer
footer spacer footer spacer

Copyright © 2016 Powered by Zen Cart Sitemap