This May Be My Last Time Singing: Raw African-American Gospel

Retail: $35.99
Today:  $27.99
Save: 22% off

Contact Us

To be notified when this product is back in stock please click here.


Product Description

This May Be My Last Time Singing: Raw African-American Gospel on 45 RPM, 1957-1982 - The music on this compilation was originally released on small label 45s, mostly in the 1960s and '70s. At least one-third of the records were self-released, paid for by a church congregation or the artists themselves. Others were on regional labels (typically run by one single producer) little known today outside of a small circle of collectors. This vibrant music is incredibly honest and almost criminally unknown.

All tracks were sourced from 45s collected over the last decade by compiler Mike McGonigal, who also produced 2009's three disc set Fire in My Bones: Raw + Rare + Otherworldly African-American Gospel (1944-2007) for Tompkins Square. McGonigal, who has compiled records for Mississippi Records and his own Social Music label, lives in Portland, OR where he is the editorial director for Yeti Publications. He writes in the liner notes that he "chose to source this compilation entirely from 45s because of their democratic/DIY nature; almost anyone could raise enough money to release a seven-inch single."

Track Listing:

CD 1 Track Listing:
1. He Will Fix It
2. I Am Saved
3. Jesus Been Good
4. I Never Heard a Man
5. The Devil's Trying to Steal My Joy
6. I Heard of a City
7. I've Got to Move to a Better Home
8. Walk with God
9. This May Be My Last Time Singing
10. Put Your Hand in the Hand
11. Cloud Hanging Low, Pt. 2
12. I Need You Jesus
13. I'll Fly Away
14. You Better Mind, Pts. 1 & 2
15. Do You Think God Will Let You By
16. I Came a Long Way
17. Don't Let Nobody Turn You Around
18. Stop Now
19. Oh Lord I Have No Friend
20. Prodigal Son
21. Down Here Praying
22. (Make Old) Satan Leave Me Alone
23. One Morning Soon
24. Zechariah

CD 2 Track Listing:
1. Stop Living on Me
2. Ain't It a Shame
3. He Got His Eyes on You
4. When He Called My Name
5. Baptized
6. I Heard a Prayer, Pts. 1 & 2
7. I'm Working on a Building
8. Perfect Like the Angels
9. So Many Fallen by the Wayside
10. If You Ever Need a Friend
11. On the Right Road Now
12. I Believe I Will Go Home
13. Save Me Jesus
14. God's New Building
15. May Be My Last Time
16. Jesus Gave Me Water
17. Be There in the Happening, Pt. 2
18. I Found a Friend
19. I'm a Child of My God
20. Let Your Will Be Done
21. If It Wasn't for the Lord What Would I Do
22. This Old Light of Mine
23. I Got to Make It
24. Where Could I Go
25. Who

CD 3 Track Listing:
1. Jesus Is on the Mainline
2. God Don't Take No Vacation
3. The Lord Will Make a Way
4. Oh Lord Help Me
5. God Is Taking Care
6. Supernatural Prayer, Pts. 1 & 2
7. Jesus Will Fix It
8. He Walks with Me, Pts. 1 & 2
9. All Wrap Up in One
10. Bless the People Everywhere
11. Milky White Way
12. I Went to the House
13. I've Got a Good Feeling
14. Send the Holy Ghost
15. Don't You Know Me Thomas
16. The Little Light
17. I Got Jesus (And That's Enough)
18. There's a Place
19. I'm a Pilgrim
20. My Lord and I
21. This May Be My Last Time
22. Peace in the Valley
23. Jesus Is Living Today

Format: Audio CD
Release Date: 11/15/2011
Label: Tompkins Square
UPC: 894807002639
CShopper ID: CSMUS6644

  • CShopper ID: CSMUS6644
  • Manufactured by: Universal Music Christian Group
  • Current Price: $27.99
  • Payments Accepted: PayPal, American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
  • Item Condition: New
  • Availability: Out of Stock
  • Processing Time: 1-3 Business Days

Customer Reviews
Be the first to review this product!

Let us notify you when this product is back in stock!

Simply enter your details below and we will send you an e-mail when “This May Be My Last Time Singing: Raw African-American Gospel” is back in stock!

We will not send you any other e-mails or add you to our newsletter, you will only be e-mailed about this product!

footer spacer logo
(678) 810-0605

Customer Service:
Open Support Ticket
footer spacer
Our Policies

:: About Us
:: Shipping
:: Returns
:: Privacy
:: Terms of Use
:: Disclaimer
footer spacer footer spacer

Copyright © 2016 Powered by Zen Cart Sitemap